School Organisation 

The Pines School has completed the final stage of its transition to an all age school. We offer places for ages 3 through to 16. The Pines School continues to refine its curriculum to best suit the needs of all pupils and allow the best opportunities for growth and development.

The Pines School is an inclusive school and we firmly believe that all pupils have an entitlement to the Foundation Stage and the full National Curriculum. We bias our work towards the acquisition of language and communication skills and ensure that the curriculum is modified and presented in such a way as to make it accessible to all pupils. We build upon the pupils’ success and encourage them to value their work and themselves by ensuring that all their achievements are rewarded.

Our teaching methods aim to address individual needs and abilities and provide a structure which ensures both personal development and academic progress. Alongside academic subjects we aim to encourage tolerance of diversity, consideration for others and the environment and the development of self-discipline and responsibility. It is important for us that our pupils develop self-confidence and independence skills to enable them to access lifelong learning.

We are very lucky to have a purpose built school that has specialized facilities, such as a separate dining hall, a PE room, several food technology rooms and a state of the art sensory studio. The pupils also benefit from allocated spaces for Speech and Language therapy, Occupational therapy and Music therapy.

The staff/pupil ratio is high throughout the school but is generally higher with the younger children.  Each class benefits from a team of staff which includes Teaching Assistants, whose role includes supporting both pupils and teaching staff.

The Foundation Stage consists of Nursery and Reception Classes (ages 3-5 years)

Key Stage 1 consists of Years 1 and 2 (ages 5 -7 years)

Key Stage 2 consists of Years 3 to 6 (ages 7 -11 years)

Key Stage 3 consists of Years 7 to 9 (ages 11-14 years)

Key Stage 4 consists of Years 10 and 11 (ages 14-16 years)